Occasional Contributor
SoniaG
Founder
Accepted Solution

Error : Unable to connect to proxy server

[ Edited ]

just done a malwarebytes full scan.  It came up with Pup things. I ticked all the boxes to remove. Now the main computer cannot connect to internet.  It seems to be something to do with proxy server. Its obviously gone missing on main computer but all is ok on laptop. I have windows xp & use Internet explorer.  I'm not good with under the bonnet stuff so please speak in English!!!  Would appreciate help to get back to normal.  By the way I did try a restore but that doesn't seem to work either.

New Contributor
byrnesy65

Re: Unable to connect to proxy server

usually when I have those issues I change the dns settings on my router

primary to 8 8 8 8

secondary to 8 8 4 4

this uses google instead of talktalk and has some protection built in, so may help establish connection

not really ,my thing routers but thats what I do

you prob have them set to auto so just uncheck the auto assign and try those above

you can always check the box again if it fails

Occasional Contributor
SoniaG
Founder

thank you for your response although I do not understand what I have to do!!  What is DNS & where do I find it?  In the past I have been fortunate to have someone deal with setting everything up - sadly that is not an option now hence my lack of understanding.  The main computer & laptop are connected by a ?Lan network. and have a wireless router.  As I said the laptop connects to the internet ok so I don't think that is the problem.  Something on the main computer  has changed but I cannot fathom what.  Any ideas!

Occasional Contributor
SoniaG
Founder

just found under network  connections the Lan bit.  Above it is broadband which says disconnected and WAN miniport (PPPOE)  I don't think it said that before & anyway I cannot get it to reconnect

New Contributor
byrnesy65

Hi