Reply
Occasional Contributor
Bobajob1
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Founder

Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Hi,

I have a laptop running Vista Windows Mail and a desktop using W7 Live Mail and would like change to Imap using Thunderbird for ease of use and storage etc. on both computers.

My usual email address is  a tiscali one and I notice there are no settings for Imap. I have another T/T.net email address which I have for privacy.

In order to consolidate as per the first paragraph, will I have to give up my Tiscali address and create a new T/T one?

If this is the case how do I then change from Pop3 to Imap?

 

Any help appreciated

Rob

Frequent Contributor
20 minutes
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎09-07-2008
Founder

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

I'll watch this thread with interest.

 

I've tried a similar thing, twin PCs running WLM with tt accounts and got an error.  Posted on here for help but not got any response yet.

 

Good luck!

 

OCE_Karl
Posts: 6,286
Topics: 2
Kudos: 988
Solutions: 467
Registered: ‎04-11-2013

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Hi 20 minutes,

 

Can you try incoming server setting  imap.tiscali.co.uk  port 143

 

Thanks

 

Karl.

Frequent Contributor
20 minutes
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎09-07-2008
Founder

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Karl - I'm with tt, not tiscali!

I suspect you meant to reply to the Original Poster?

 

OCE_Karl
Posts: 6,286
Topics: 2
Kudos: 988
Solutions: 467
Registered: ‎04-11-2013

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Hi 20 Minutes,

 

yes, sorry - fingers to fast for my own good :smileyhappy:

 

Karl

Occasional Contributor
Bobajob1
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Founder

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Hi Karl

 

Thanks for the info. Can I set up a test without deleting my current (POP) settings?  eg. Just create an IMAP account and set as default. I've done some research but it's unclear. I don't need baby-sitting but it will be appreciated if you can point me in the right direction.

 

Rob

OCE_Karl
Posts: 6,286
Topics: 2
Kudos: 988
Solutions: 467
Registered: ‎04-11-2013

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Hi Rob,

 

you can set up a second account and make it primary for testing.

 

setup instructions are here http://help2.talktalk.co.uk/guided-assist/how-do-i-set-my-email

 

Alternatively if you do not want to use the same account, you can create a test email account via 'my account' and set this up as Imap.

 

You can then send from one account to the other for testing.

 

Thanks

 

Karl.

Occasional Contributor
Bobajob1
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Founder

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Thanks Karl,

 

I'll try your settings later and let you know how it goes.

 

Rob

OCE_Karl
Posts: 6,286
Topics: 2
Kudos: 988
Solutions: 467
Registered: ‎04-11-2013

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Hi Rob

 

np. look forward to finding out how you get on.

 

Karl.

Occasional Contributor
Bobajob1
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Founder

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Hi Karl,

Well I've finally got around to configuring IMAP Thunderbird having been away for a while.

 

It works on both computers ok for sending and receiving emails, but when I attach a small file or photo, I get a 'failed to connect to smpt.tiscali.co.uk server.'

Incoming port is 143 and outgoing is 587.

Using T/bird help it could be that the server is blocking, any ideas please?

Rob

Occasional Contributor
Bobajob1
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Founder

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

Update,

 

The desktop running W7 works perfectly, but the laptop running Vista does the above.

 

Rob

Occasional Contributor
Bobajob1
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Founder

Re: Changing from Pop3 to Imap

OK sorted, missed off my default server in Settings