Broadband help

For queries about your TalkTalk broadband service.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GlobalProtect VPN not working on TalkTalk since early August

ebuffery
Chatterbox
Message 14 of 14

I've been working from home for several months using a new company laptop PC running Windows 10, which uses a VPN software called GlobalProtect (from Palo Alto, website is here: https://www.paloaltonetworks.com/products/globalprotect ). It is fully updated, barely has anything non-essential installed, and connects to the internet via the Wi-Fi from the TalkTalk router. Until recently, everything worked fine, and I could connect to everything I needed to. However, since sometime in the first week of August, whenever GlobalProtect is connected, I can barely access anything online at all, whether company related or not.

After extensive troubleshooting with members of my IT team, we have established that they had not made any changes at their end, no other staff have the same problem, and they could not find any problems from their end. We did discover that everything works fine if I disconnect from the TalkTalk Wi-Fi and use my mobile phone as a hotspot instead, which is on the Three network.

We have concluded that the most likely cause is something on the TalkTalk side, though none of the changes we tried to the router settings (including setting everything to default or temporarily disabling a couple of the security options) made a difference.