cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

CAN'T SEND EMAIL - 'The server response was: g6PBew2xzCbAZ Authentication Required (TT401)'

34 REPLIES
Highlighted
madainat
Conversation Starter

anyone know what this means ......? It's so specific and whilst I'm not a techie, it must mean something and indicate what the issue/ problemis?  I'm returning this again after a few months off because I want to be able to send email on my main MAC again instead of having to use my ipad which strangely allows me to send emails without the above problem. We are Apple clients but this has worked perfectly well on TT until about 4 years ago. Cheers 

n/a
Gondola
Community Star

Hi @madainat

Just check that the email account is working ok and that you can login using webmail (Click here)

This is just to check that it's not a login issue, i.e. a wrong password, disguised as some other issue.

The error message indicates that authentication is required.

• The email sending name does not match the domain
    i.e. a talktalk.net email account cannot send on behalf of a different account
  • The server settings are not as expected
    Are you using the recommended IMAP settings for talktalk.net email?
 Account Type   IMAP (recommended)
Login / Username username@talktalk.net
Incoming mail server mail.talktalk.net
Incoming Port 993
Incoming Security SSL
Outgoing mail server smtp.talktalk.net
Outgoing Port 587
Outgoing Security STARTTLS
Outgoing Authentication Yes
 Gondola - I'm a TVPlus customer *
madainat
Conversation Starter

thanks for getting back Gondola ......as far as I can see we have those settings showing correctly but we also have an authentication field on 'Server settings' which offers these options:   

External (TLS client certificate)

kerberos version 5 (GSSAPI) 

NTLM

MD5 Challenge - Response

Password

which one do we tick ( currently set to password) ?

cheers Madainat

n/a
madainat
Conversation Starter