Showing results for 
Show  only  | would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Legacy email

7 REPLIES 7
JJG8MM
First Timer

I have been using LINEONE, and TISCALI for over 20 years, and recently TALKTALK.NET,  as well as others outside of the UK.

All of these addresses are correctly mapped, and have been usually useable.

From time to time a link gets broken, and a call to TT usually gets it fixed - that I what is needed now - do not go *@#][!![]'#[@#]!* arround with account settings - you will simply confuse.

IncidentallyI use POP3 for some things IMAP for others. I can get all to work on IMAP, although It sometimes takes a little effort.

Since I use a VPN (all of the time) IMAP is the prefferred protocol.

John

Gondola
Community Star

Hi @JJG8MM 

Follow the advice in the sticky post at the top of this forum. Upgrade your legacy mail settings.

Let us know when you've done so and that the lineone mail is flowing.  You shouldn't need to make any change to tiscali.co.uk or talktalk.net domain mail but do check that secure ports and encryption security is being used.

Gondola - Volunteer 2017-2021

To appreciate my help . . . If I offered a solution Best Answer

JJG8MM
First Timer

NO, NO, NO!

This issue occurs every year, and has always been put right by TT in the past.

I will not screw around with my settings, since it does not only affect TT accounts, but also those on my mailwasher - and that I working correctly throughout the weekend.  My email addresses have been the same for 20+ years. The passwords may change but URLs do not.

John

Gondola
Community Star

And your email addresses will stay the same so long as you remain a TalkTalk Consumer customer.

But Lineone as an ISP, just like Woolworths as a High Street UK shop, does not exist. And if you're still using the lineone server host name then keep your lineone.net email address going but via the tiscali.co.uk or talktalk.net host name servers.

Or just do nothing. Your choice.