Did you mean: 
Need help?

Extreme Latency - Dropping Packets

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
First Timer

Hello,

Firstly, help needed!

I work in the IT industry and feel like I am going around in circles, being passed between teams. Now being handled by the 'fault manager', which eludes to being someone of seniority. Only to find out there are hundred of fault manages which implies it is just a title to eludes to this fact.  

Since moving property and transferring the router we had at our old property, the connection since going live has been completely unusable. We're now heavily relying on a personal hotspot (supplied by Three), which I will add hasn't dropped once (4G) since using it for all devices and laptops/PCs. We went live and connection was poor, gave it the benefit of the doubt, next day still unusable & now day 7 days later... the connection is still unusable. I have spoken to the technical team (apparently), who have done line tests... which of course... came back clear. I have sent over all the evidence to show packet loss and they then want to send me out a new router and wait a further 6 days. I wasn't going to wait, so I bought a TP link router, which is far more premium than any ISP router - configured it and connected, check DSL and was connected. Still the connection was unable. I have set via dynamic IP so it had the talk talk DNS settings, this didnt work. I then set it up manually setting everything, to googles (8888, 8844) DNS settings - still didn't work. 

I advised talktalk of this and I asked for the case to be escalated when I was told to still wait for a new router, which is clearly not the problem. I asked them to check the DLM settings and reset it, however was advised if I wanted this I would have to pay for an openreach engineer to do it (disgusting!). We're boardline now about to leave TalkTalk and go to a provide which cares and listens to you.