Showing results for 
would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

House move - fibre slower than guaranteed min speed

21 REPLIES 21
orangewinger
Popular Poster

Did a house move a couple of week ago and haven't managed to get the guaranteed speeds on fibre yet. At first I realised I wasn't plugged into the master socket and moved the modem. Then had connection drops and realised a phone on an extension didn't have a filter, it now does, I've had a stable connection for 20 hours now.

I have a link speed of 5249/23910 Kbps and expecing 30000 down at minimum. I have a Brightspark engineer coming out on Wednesday but I was wondering if a line test has been done or if the DSM can be reset as it might be me causing the issue?

How long before I would expect to see the speeds going up?

I have a master socket but it doesn't have a test socket and I have now disconnected all powerline and other equipment to try and isolate the issue.

TIA

Dave

orangewinger
Popular Poster
Had a stable connection for 42 hours now but no speed improvements.
hosay299
Insightful One

Hi Welcome 

just so u know fibre can take around 10 days to go to a stable speed as it is on a different system to standard broadband.

Can u try a thing out what what router u have?? as sometime that can tell u ur speed to ur router before any devices are connected??

Have u tried turning the router off for 30 mins so that when u turn it back on it reconnects correcly with the system.

What is the bright spark booked for ??? just they could look at the speed issue if booked for broadband related.

A bite of info of Forum: