cancel
Showing results for 
would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

How to enable WAN connection to devices on network. Router settings?

3 REPLIES 3
Shifty Geezer
Popular Poster

As an indie dev, I'm wanting to enable WAN access to my network for my own application. The intention is for people to be able to host games on a device (PC or mobile) and other friends can connect via IP address. I've got a friend run it and I can connect on the network to them, but they can't connect to me. I also want to be able to connect local devices over WAN for testing if that's possible.

I'm not great at network stuff! I've looked through and enabled port forwarding etc. A ping to the WAN fails. What are the other options/settings I need to fiddle with on the Sagemcom Fast 5364 that TalkTalk have provided?

Cheers!

Birchcroft
Wise Owl

In theory all you need to do is:

• setup a Dynamic DNS service so you can access your network from the outside world, using an address such as ShiftyGeezer.hopto.org.
  • Assign a static IP address to the device running your application. eg 192.168.1.20
  • Setup port forwarding for your app.  So if your app uses port 80 and you wanted to use port 100 on the wan you would setup port forwarding to forward port 100 on the wan to port 80 on 192.168.1.20.

Then you should should be able to access your app from the wan using the address ShiftyGeezer.hopto.org:100

Hope this helps

Shifty Geezer
Popular Poster
Thanks. Can you please clear up some fundamentals for me?

I was thinking that an IP address is directly addressable from any computer. However, I get the feeling that's not actually the case, and all internet traffic has to go through a DNS server. As such, a home computer cannot just host something as The Internet won't know about it. If so, by using a service like hopto, one informs The Internet that you have a server that people can connect to, making the address usable.