cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

OMG fast plug directly into Talk Talk Rueter

16 REPLIES 16
Enlightened One

Just wondering whether I can actually plug directly into the Talk Talk Rueter without using the open reach who are the white modem? 

done some test using speed test today 

i’m having a new TalkTalk Rueter sent out by one of your lovely staff members and they said I just need to plug it directly into the Talk Talk Rueter and unplug the Openreach modem,  if that’s the case why do openreach use these White  modems? 

I am on G-Fast

ptescol

I'm no expert, i'm just a guy!
Community Star

Hi

The answer to your question is YES.  You do not have to use the BT white modem, since the new router is also a modem. Just take the rj45 socket cable out of the back of the white bt modem and plug in to the new modem / router supplied.  Instructions can be found in the box.

The just power on the new supplied modem/router.

Orange light will blink for a while and when connected turn white to say it is connected to broadband.  All the router wifi logon names and passwords can be found on the detachable tab on rear of router.

Community Star

BT used to use the White modem, since that was their early way of doing things. You could have separate Modem and then connect in any router.  Then along came devices that were all in one. Modem / router combined.

Saves you a plug socket as well.

Philosopher

@paulshent , oops, check the last line of @prescol 's post.

The customer is on g.fast so does require the special modem !

I believe you can get an internet connection direct from the WAN socket on the modem to a computer, but if you need routing functions and WiFi the HUB needs to be connected to the modem.

Martin
Enlightened One