Showing results for 
Show  only  | would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Static IP unreachable after 24/48 hrs

12 REPLIES 12
Grant
Conversation Starter

Hi, I have been using a Raspberry Pi 3 B with the WiFi hub for around 6 months without any issues. Within the last couple of weeks, the Pi has become unreachable on the network every so often.

• I have 192.168.1.3 statically configured on the Pi and also reserved on the router. The pi is connected via cable.
  • I can communicate with the Pi via http, samba, ssh, ping, etc...
  • After around 24 hours, I cannot even get a response from ping.
  • Power cycling the Pi has no effect.
  • Unplugging and re-plugging the RJ45 cable to the pi has no effect, although sometimes seems to 'disconnect' and reconnect the WAN, which I found surprising. Ie: the led is red and then eventually turns white.
  • The only temporary solution is to power cycle the router.

Was there a firmware update in the last couple of weeks that could have caused this?

I can see that my router is running SG4K10002808t, but I can't see a timestamp for it.

It is worth noting that I have other static IP devices on the network which aren't having any issues. Although, it seems strange that the only way to bring the pi back online is to reboot the router.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Grant

OCE_Michelle
Community Team - TT Staff

Hi Grant,

I'll look into this for you and will let you know as soon as I know more.

Thanks

OCE_Michelle

Hi Grant,

Sorry for the delay. I've made a change, could you monitor the connection and let us know if there is any improvement please. How often is this currently happening at the moment?

Thanks

Grant
Conversation Starter
Thanks Michelle,

The Pi was unreachable this morning, so it is roughly every 24 hours.
I saw the router reboot this morning at 08:10, which I assume was you making this change. After starting back up, the pi was reachable again.