Showing results for 
Show  only  | would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Switched to Faster Fibre.

ANSWERED
Community Team - TT Staff

Hi Dave

Thank you for completing these tests. This helps us to rule out issues with the wired connection.

@KeithFrench provides really good advice on improving wireless performance. Keith could you help please?

Thanks

Debbie

Highlighted
Conversation Starter

Hi Debbie,

Thanks for that and recommending @KeithFrench.

He may have his work cut out, I'm a complete novice when it comes to delving into the Router settings and making adjustments.

Regards.

Dave

Highlighted
Community Star

Hi @Dave57 

Debbie has asked me to help you, at six pages, I am not even going to start reading through all of the other posts, but I assume you are still using your DSL-3782.

Slow speed, intermittent dropouts, breaks in the signal, or no signal on some or all devices, might be caused by Wi-Fi interference from other local networks, which can also lead to a permanent reduction in speed. No ISP can be responsible for your local environment, this is mainly a by-product of the popularity of Wi-Fi.

The DSL-3782 is a dual-band router & offers both the older 2.4GHz & the newer 5GHz Wi-Fi bands. The problem is these are two different networks (SSIDs), but they share the same name, so you can't tell which one you are connected to. Log into the router (http://192.168.1.1) and enter a username of "admin" and use the unique router password (see the label on the rear of the router at the top).

Go to:-
Settings > Wireless (Wi-Fi)

Append "5G" to the end of the network name of the 5 GHz "SSID" field. Then click "Save".

This will not fix your issues, but it will make it much easier to identify the band you are connected to. This way you will know which band is causing your problems.