Showing results for 
Show  only  | would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Talktalk hub DHCP Problems

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Chatterbox

I'm new to talktalk. I just switched from virgin media. I've spent far too long on what should be a very very simple problem with DHCP and I'm starting to get frustrated with it. Googling hasnt helped. Neither has contacting talktalk tech support.

Anyway, back to the point. I just removed my virgin media router, plugged in my talk talk hub.

Now I have quite a lot of kit in my house. I use my own DHCP server. Most things are also configured with static addresses out of scope. I also have some more bespoke products like particle photons and other IOT devices, its a much more complex setup than your average home user. 

The short story is, like 99.9999% of all other routers available, I'm trying to set the talktalk hubs ip address from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.0.1 and turn off DHCP, thus in an instant, allowing everything to work as it was before without having to reconfigure everything in my home environment, some of which would be an absolute pain to do especially with the IOT chips.

Thats one ip address to change and one button to click save.....

I did it when i moved to virgin media. I've done it for my family and friends when they've changed routers or isps.

Never had any issues with this simple feature before.

Then along comes talktalk and their great idea to lock down/modify the sagecom which i have no idea why they would butcher the firmware in such a way to prevent people from doing this.

You click save and you're just thrown an error 'invalid ip address' under the dhcp pool settings. Even if you switch off dhcp:

talktalk_dhcp_error.PNG