would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Two router set up

6 REPLIES 6
LTGoldman
First Timer

Hello Talk Talk community,

I am trying to set up a two router configuration, I have received the sagemcom router as supplied by TalkTalk.  The official talktalk router is all connected up and working; however, I would like to set up a second router (Draytek Vigor 2850N) to connect wirelessly to the talk talk router so that I can connect some devices by ethernet cable to the draytek and have the draytek run all of its connections through the talk talk router wirelessly.  I am IT literate but I am not a networking expert.  I heard of WDS but i cannot seem to find any settings related to this on the talk talk router (there is a setting on the dratek for WDS and it is a router that is semi-buisness so it has a lot of advanced features).

So far I have set up the talk talk router as 192.168.1.1 and the draytek router as 192.168.1.2.

Does anybody know if this is possible or am I going to have to invest in a replacement router for the talk talk one?

Or are there easier ways to achieve this?

I could get a recessed skirting board and run a CAT7 cable to bridge the gap but if I could do this wirelessly then this is more preferred......

KeithFrench
Community Star

No TalkTalk router or many other cheaper 3rd party routers support WDS. The 3rd party one, to do exactly what you want, would need to act as a WiFi client to connect to the WiFi Hub. Then act like a normal AP for devices to connect to and/or supporting wired connections to devices. 

You would be better having power line adapters establishing a wired connection over the mains electricity between the two routers.

Keith
I am not employed by TalkTalk, I'm just a customer. If my post has fixed the issue, please mark it as the Best Answer.
OCE's and Community Stars - Who are they? 

LTGoldman
First Timer