FIbre Support

Get expert support with your Fibre connection.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding as econd router to my wifi

RJpad
First Timer
Message 9 of 9

Dues to signl strength Ive a dded a second router to my wifi setup. I have changed the wireless mode , channel. security mode,and password to match the TT router. I have assigned a fixed IP address to differentiate form the TT Router. My computer and phones connect OK but other items such as TV games consoles Hive ect are having problems. If you reset the smart TV a couple of times it seems to work, but the next day its dropped off again Im not technical so looking for an easy solution even if it requires buying new kit. It seems there are issues with NAT DHCP and MHZ settings/allocating IP addresses.

0 Likes
8 REPLIES 8

speedygonzalez
Whizz Kid
Message 1 of 9

@RJpad You have a few options depending on what you want to achieve.

I dont think the 2nd router in  its current configuration is helpful. 

Do you want to have the same WIFI SSID through the home ? In which case a Mesh System (whole home) or Wifi extender (targeting one area) is what you need.

If all you need is a WIFI signal for static devices such as TV  and games console,  an access point may be enough. 

You Asus is capable of being turned into an Access Point.  

https://www.asus.com/support/faq/1015009 

Extenders and Mesh Systems too many to choose from.  

Example of an Extender

https://www.tp-link.com/uk/home-networking/range-extender/re650/ 

Example of mesh type system

https://www.synology.com/en-uk/products/MR2200ac 

0 Likes

Message 2 of 9

If you are not using port forwarding, you do not need DDNS.

Keith
I am not employed by TalkTalk, I'm just a customer. If my post has fixed the issue, please set Accept as Solution from the 3 dot menu.
TalkTalk support and Community Stars - Who are they? 

0 Likes

Message 3 of 9

@speedygonzalez 

sorry missed the last part of your answer.