FIbre Support

Get expert support with your Fibre connection.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No WIFI internet connection when changing LAN IP address

g0rsq
Team Player
Message 8 of 8

It looks like recently a problem has occured with my TalkTalk Wifi Hub.

I lost Internet connection when using WIFI (ethernet was OK).

After some diagnostics, I by chance have discovered if the LAN IP address is not in the 192.168.1.XXX range then the WIFI will not connect to the internet.

I had previously changed the LAN IP to 192.168.11.XXX range as this is the range I have been using at home for about 15 years (I have about 40 devices on my network).

I have resolved the issue by using another router to connect my home network to the TalkTalk IP range.

Why has this occured? It looks like the WIFI IP addresses are fixed and do not follow the LAN IP addresses set in the router which can be changed.

Peter Walker
0 Likes
7 REPLIES 7

Message 1 of 8

Hi Peter,

Glad to hear you've got it working. I can't see any action at our end at the time that you lost connection. Debbie just switched off wifi optimisation which shouldn't have caused the issues that you experienced and it was at a different time anyway

Chris

0 Likes

Message 2 of 8

In case it helps identify what happened, my cameras went off line at 13:15 on 30/12/2020, so maybe you can identify if that tied in with a particular action from TalkTalk

Peter Walker
0 Likes

Message 3 of 8

Well my network is commingback to life. Found out what IS wrong.

Test I made this morning.

1 Restet TalkTalk router to factory settings, and connected to my telephone line.

2 Waited for everything to connect on broadband.

3 Connected to the router with my phone over WIFI using default access.

4 Phone connected fine and gave internet connection over WIFI.