FIbre Support

Get expert support with your Fibre connection.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port forwarding for Dedicated Videogame Servers

1O1Games
Chatterbox
Message 10 of 10

So I have been running dedicated Videogame servers for years such as Minecraft servers on port 25565, Garry's Mod servers on port 27015 and Rust servers on port 28015. I have done this many times on many different internet providers so its not like I'm new to this however it seems that talk talk refuses to let any of these ports open. I have seen article after article on this page giving ideas of ways to make it work but it appears that most if not everyone comes to the same conclusions.. "talk talk has blocked port forwarding", "it doesn't work", "use a VPN to port forward" etc. so I guess with this post I'm simply trying to get a definitive answer, is it possible to port forward on talk talk? or am I just wasting my time and should I look to change back to another internet provider?

Thank you for your time and consideration

-Ethan

0 Likes
9 REPLIES 9

Message 1 of 10

Thank you @Piethorne this has been very insightful. I am very thankful and appreciative of this as it may potentially help me solve my issue. 

I will try running the server when i test the port as i had not realised what you said before to be true. thanks again.

0 Likes

Message 2 of 10

@1O1Games As I mentioned earlier, these settings are for Web Servers using the DG8041W hub. I don't run games, or have any interest in them, but the same principles should apply to them. No DMZ required.

One thing to note is that a game/web/other server MUST be up and running for a port forward checker to work, otherwise you're effectively asking it to check a PC that is switched off / doesn't exist. i.e. the game etc opens up the port, and if it's not running...

Like others, I once thought TT blocked some ports, but it turned out to be a senior moment...

Image1.jpgImage2.jpg