FIbre Support

Get expert support with your Fibre connection.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VPN Broken - worked for 18 months now not working

EmmaF4
First Timer
Message 7 of 7

Hi,

I have been working from Home for the past 18 months and my VPN has always worked. Switched to Talk Talk in April and it continued working fine.

Approximately 2 weeks ago (mid September) it stopped working like many others on here.

Having just spent 3 hours with my IT guy and on the phone to support this has not been resolved. We have tried removing kids filter, scam protection, restarting and factory reset of the router. 

If I connect my laptop to my mobile phone hotspot the VPN works perfectly, as it does for my other colleagues. As soon as you switch back to my WIFI (i.e. TALKTALK) it cannot connect. We have tried this with two separate laptops and both have the same issue.

Clearly TalkTalk has amended some sort of settings, however their own technical team are unable to advise and no managers were available to assist. I had to laugh when their technical advice was to ask the community as apparently you can tell me to change stuff they cant!

Please help as I need to be able to work having returned from holiday! If we cannot get this fixed shortly I guess I will have to go via ofcom to get my contract cancelled as they are unable to provide the service I pay for!

I note from other posts that a new router seems to be the only way this gets resolved. My current router is a Sagecom "TalkTalk Wi-Fi Hub" using firmware: SG4K100130.

Thanks

0 Likes
6 REPLIES 6

Message 1 of 7

Hi

Just following up on the recent VPN Issue you had, to aid our Teams in their investigation of the issue affecting the Sagemcom 5364 router running Firmware V130t.

Can you let me know if you tried changing the Firewall level in the router and if this allowed the VPN to connect.