Showing results for 
Show  only  | would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Can a router be switched off by a password

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
First Timer

I’m not very tech savvy.. however was just wondering is there a way the router can be programmed to switch off at any time, or internet access to be controlled by password? Just have family that are up until 2am most nights and it’s affecting my sanity!... don’t really want to disconnect it and sleep with it under my pillow every night!

TIA

Highlighted
Problem Solver

Not exactly what you want but if you log in to My Account then My Services -> View Homesafe Settings there's a setting called "Homework Time".

That allows you to block gaming sites and social media at certain times.

It's not a complete solution but it may give you a little relief.

Problem Solver
Have just researched a bit more and don't get your hopes up with "Homework Time".

It doesn't allow the time block to cross midnight (so you can't set 10pm to 6am for example) and is limited as to what it blocks. So, could you set it to start blocking at midnight I suppose. May be better than nothing, or may not.

There are quite a few posts requesting what you want, other ISPs seem to offer it: https://community.plus.net/t5/Tech-Help-Software-Hardware-etc/Limiting-a-child-s-WiFi-access-time/td...

but requests to TalkTalk have fallen on deaf ears which is a shame.
Highlighted
Conversation Starter

Bear in mind there's a big difference between TalkTalk's Homesafe, and Plusnet Access Control. TalkTalk's Homesafe is implemented network-side on TalkTalk's infrastructure, whereas Plusnet's Access Control is implemented at the physical Hub One that will be in your home if you're a Plusnet customer.