cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Seeking advice for making music more than just a hobby...

1 REPLY 1
Minato009
Visitor

Like many of you, music is my passion but not something I do professionally in any capacity. I studied something else in college and work a full time, white collar job to make ends meet. I am only 22, and am completely dedicated to doing what it takes to transition into making music my primary means of income.

My experience is pretty varied: I have played guitar and bass each for over a decade, have plenty of performance experience in bands that play music across a wide range of genres, have dabbled in composition for student films, and am currently completing a comprehensive audio engineering course with a local studio. My approach thus far has been to exercise and hone these skills in what little free time I get in the evenings after work and on weekends, but I can't help but feel that I am stretching myself incredibly thin, especially when I try to balance this stuff with other hobbies.

Should I just stay the course until a music related opportunity comes along with a financial incentive that could justify me pursuing it full time? Should I quit my job (or find something part-time) and throw myself into making music work for me on a more professional basis? This is the option that my gut is leaning towards, but my brain tends to disagree. I should also note that I don't want or expect to make a lot of money pursing musical interests, just enough to allow me to keep doing it. I also have enough money saved to live comfortably without a job for at least several months.