Showing results for 
would you rather see results for 
Did you mean: 
Need help?

Fast 5364 won't connect to Swann CCTV

7 REPLIES 7
TessBirdGirl
First Timer

Hi, I just moved from BT yesterday and today it's feeling like a MASSIVE mistake.

My Talk Talk Sagecom FAST 5364 router will not communicate with my Swann CCTV.  I have tried EVERYTHING I can think of.  Swann are pointing the finger firmly at Talk Talk and Talk Talk are NO help at all.  I have had endless online chats with advisers who know as little as I do, have given up trying to get through to a human being as this seems impossible for tech support.  

My CCTV DVR is in an outside building and is connected to the router via a NETGEAR ProSAFE 5 port Gigabit Switch GS105v5 which apparently Talk Talk doesn't support.  Online tech have suggested port forwarding but are unable to help me with what I'm actually supposed to put in the boxes on the relevant page in my routers admin area.

Can anyone help out ?

I am not tech savvy and am feeling utterly bamboozled having started trying to deal with this exactly 24 hours ago and having got precisely nowhere.  I would go and buy another router from Currys except I don't know if they're Talk Talk compatible and have even less faith in Curry's staff than TT's !.     Incidentally my HP Deskjet 3520 won't connect either.  Haven't dared try the TV yet - I may do something terrible if that's gone wrong too !!!

Help !!!!

charlesb224
Wise Owl

From what you've described, I suspect the problem is the Swann CCTV system has a 'fixed' IP address in it's Network Settings

Something in the format 192.168.x.x with a gateway of 192.168.x.1 

I very much doubt the TalkTalk router is at fault.  You need to determine which address range the Talktalk router is using. 

I don't have the Sagem, but my experience with past TalkTalk routers is that they use the 192.168.1.x range.  I wonder if your prior router used 192.168.0.x  or another range.