NEED SOME HELP?

We’re here 24/7. 365 days a year.
Ask questions. Find your answers. Connect.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enhanced remote management

Version History
Last update:
‎01-06-2020 10:40 AM
Updated by:

To bring you the best service possible, we use Enhanced Remote Management to update and maintain your router for you. It means we can update your router's software and fix problems before they affect your broadband.

To check whether Enhanced Remote Management is enabled on your router, or to change your settings, choose your router below and follow the instructions.

 

We strongly recommend that you don't change the Enhanced Remote Management settings your router came with.

 

Which router do I have?

Your router's make and model is on the sticker on the back of your router. The make comes first (e.g. Huawei) followed by the model (e.g. HG633).

  1. Open your browser and type in 192.168.1.1 to go to the router admin page
  2. Type admin into the username field
  3. Type your password into the password field. You can find it on the sticker on the back of your router. If you've changed your router login details, then you'll need to enter your own instead. If you've forgotten them, don't worry; just reset your router to its factory settings
  4. Select OK
  5. Select Maintain on the right
  6. Then choose Remote Management
  7. De-select the check box opposite Enable remote management to disable it
  8. Select Save
  9. If you want to turn the feature back on, repeat the above steps but select the check box opposite Enable remote management

 

  1. Open your browser and type in 192.168.1.1 to go to the router admin page
  2. Type admin into the username and password fields and click Login. admin is your router's default username and password. If you've changed them, then you'll need to enter your own details. If you've forgotten them, don't worry; just reset your router to its factory settings
  3. Click Advanced on the left
  4. Then click OK on the warning box
  5. Click Advanced again and then select CWMP
  6. Make sure the TR069 tab is selected
  7. Change the ACS URL to http://router/
  8. Delete cpeuser from the Connection Request User Name
  9. Click Submit
  10. To turn the feature back on, repeat the above steps but enter http://acs.talktalk.co.uk:7547/ACS-server/ACS into the ACS URL and cpeuser for the Connection Request User Name

 

  1. Open your browser and type in 192.168.1.1 to go to the router admin page
  2. Type admin into the username and password fields and click OK. admin is your router's default username and password. If you've changed them, then you'll need to enter your own details. If you've forgotten them, don't worry; just reset your router to its factory settings.
  3. Click Advanced on the left.
  4. Then click OK on the warning box.
  5. Click Advanced again.
  6. Click Network Tools.
  7. Click TR-069.
  8. Select the Disable or Deactivated option.
  9. Click Add/Apply.
  10. If you want to turn this feature back on, repeat the above steps but click Enable.

 

Still need help?

We have a reduced support team available at the moment, which means the wait times to speak to us may be longer than usual. Why not manage your account or get help with your services online using one of the below options

My Account

View your bills & keep tabs on your usage.

Service ​Centre

New: See how your connection is performing.

Community

Here 24/7, 365 days a year, why not post your question?