cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband help

For queries about your TalkTalk broadband service.

Broadband below guaranteed minimum; chat support not helpful

shelmec
Team Player
Private Message
Message 13 of 13

Current VDSL has dropped from ~60Mbps down about 8 weeks ago to 39Mbps this morning (after a remote reset at around 2am). I don't use TT supplied router, as I have some networking knowledge and work with a Draytek load balancing router. 2nd line shares last mile drop cable and is TTBusiness syncing at 60Mb.

Guaranteed minimum is 43.xMb (think x=7), and it's below this at 39Mb, so I'm looking for a fix, not to be told I have to connect the TT router.

This has happened in the past. According to openreach, there are some issues to the cabinet and no free lines or fibre ports, so they turn up, connect their diagnostics, say "it's not right", go to the cabinet and reset the fibre port. Then we're good for another 9-12+ months.

I'm looking for someone who "can" to raise a request on openreach to reset the fibre port (and DSM is this won't be done by fibre reset) without needing to test the line to the house. It's happened before about 8 times in the last 16 years, and I just want someone to press the reset switch (or switch it off and on again :))

Yes, I'm direct connected via GBit ethernet to the router, and nothing has changed in the last 8 months (since the storm took out the power). This is intensely irritating, and I just want openreach to do a little thing. And router firmware and modem code is all up to date.

I guess if we can't, I'm out of contract at the end of the month, so....

0 Likes
12 REPLIES 12

Message 1 of 13

Hi Chris

Thanks for confirming your details.

The engineer visit has been arranged for 16/08 AM (8am - 1pm)

Please let us know how you get on following this visit.

Thanks again.

Debbie

0 Likes

Message 2 of 13

Hi Chris