cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband help

For queries about your TalkTalk broadband service.

Modem seems to be rebooting in a loop

vrooze
Popular Poster
Private Message
Message 17 of 17

Hi

Since the early hours of this morning my router (black one with orange "dots") has got itself into a boot-loop.

It powers up, blinks amber for about 30seconds, blinks amber and white a few times, reboots and repeats ad nauseam.

I was working from home and had to move into the office because of this. However, before I left I tried leaving it offline for a period and powering back on to no avail.

I'm an IT tech myself so I did some basic tests before migrating into the office.

A rolling ping to the unit results in a period of timeouts, a period of normal ping responses (and being able to access the GUI) then timeouts again. It seems to be responsive for a minute or so tops before repeating the behaviour.

I tried to get into the modem logs but the time it takes to login and open the URL its already started its reboot cycle so not a great deal I could pull from it other than its "discovering new devices on the network".

The line test from my account suggests the link from you guys is OK, I think it's the modem itself being a pest.

Anything I've missed that could be tried?

- Mark

0 Likes
16 REPLIES 16

Message 1 of 17
0 Likes

vrooze
Popular Poster
Private Message
Message 2 of 17

Seems to be working pretty stable.

I'll put the (new)  router in the back with  the charger etc and send it back.

- Mark

Message 3 of 17

Hi Mark,

Glad to hear it's working. Yes please return the new one in the returns bag if the old one is now working OK

Thanks
Chris

0 Likes

Message 4 of 17

Hi Chris

3 factory resets later (I backed up and restored my old config first 2) and it's back online.

As you suspected the  version is  `SG4K100130`