cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NEED SOME HELP?

We’re here 24/7. 365 days a year.
Ask questions. Find your answers. Connect.

Message for KeithFrench

Woody179!
Team Player
Private Message TalkTalk
Message 15 of 15

Hi @KeithFrench ,

I was wondering if you could send me your WI-FI optimisation guide please. I am on Fibre 900 and regularly get speeds of 940 to 950 MB on my Ethernet connected computers, but on my laptop and surface using a Wi-Fi connection only get speeds of between 300MB and 450MB. 

I used to work in IT and therefore have knowledge in networking, but unfortunately my Wi-Fi knowledge is lacking.

Thanks,

Paul

Edited to add,

Sorry forgot to say, my laptop is Wi-Fi 6.

14 REPLIES 14

Woody179!
Team Player
Private Message TalkTalk
Message 1 of 15

Hi Keith,

I've sent you a message with the screenshot. You're correct I do have two Netgear extenders in use because the Wi-Fi signal wasn't strong enough to reach the garage (car charger, that can only be connected via Wi-Fi) and shed (garden water feature smart plug). The Netgear unit that is connected to my switch is a XAV5201 and the two Wi-Fi extenders are both Netgear XWN5001 units. The Gateway eero is the one in the study on the 2nd floor.

Thanks,

Paul

0 Likes

KeithFrench
Community Star
Private Message TalkTalk
Message 2 of 15

Hi Paul,

I have just started to have a quick look at this & first I need to have a look at exactly what APs you have. I can see the two eeros, but what are the MAC addresses of the gateway eero? That way I can identify which one is which. In the app, if you go to:-

Home > Gateway eero > Device information

Please can you get get me a screenshot of that page? It is probably best that you send this in a PM to me to preserve your privacy.

I can also see you have two Netgear extenders with the SSID the same as yours ending in _EXT & _ Ext1. What are the model numbers of these?

Keith