cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband help

For queries about your TalkTalk broadband service.

New DG8041W router not specified and not connecting to all devices

Urnie
First Timer
Private Message
Message 8 of 8

After my new DG8041W router was unexpectedly delivered, and having 2 letters stating that if I do not use it that I might experience problems, I decided to swap it for my exisisting reliable TPLink one. The set up was reasonably straight forward. The computer connected easily using Network and password codes on the router card and I have been able to connect my mobiles, TV and Sky devices. They are still working fine. One device, My Pioneer SC-LX87 AV receiver has not connected. I use this a lot for internet radio. It has a DHCP server function activated and I believe that this should help it to connect automatically.

I have little knowledge of IT but have discovered that my new router appears as "unspecified" rather than being named. I have tried typing 192.168.1.1. into the address bar. The login screen opens but if I try to use the network name and password on the card with the router, it does not recognise it. ublock origin is installed but I have disabled this for Talk Talk. Apologies for my ignorance. Can you tell me what I should do next? 

0 Likes
7 REPLIES 7

KeithFrench
Community Star
Private Message TalkTalk
Message 1 of 8

That is not the network configuration at all. What I need to see is this information, which you can only get from the AV receiver itself:-

IP address

Subnet Mask

Default Gateway

DNS server

I did also request if this is trying to connect to the WiFi booster or the router?

Keith
I am not employed by TalkTalk, I'm just a customer. If my post has fixed the issue, please set Accept as Solution from the 3 dot menu.
TalkTalk support and Community Stars - Who are they? 

0 Likes

Message 2 of 8