email support

Ask us about your TalkTalk email account and Webmail.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difficulty Configuring Mobile Device to Read TalkTalk Email - Please Help!

JRT26_8
First Timer
Message 5 of 5

Dear Community,

I have used the Talktalk portal’s email facilities for many years. I have also used IMAP to read Talktalk email on a range of mobile devices (iPad, mobile phone, etc). However in March 2020, access to email on all my mobile devices stopped working. I did not make any changes to my setup before just this, the ability to receive email on all mobile devices failed spontaneously on 5 March 2020. However, I can still read my email via the Talktalk portal.

I should note that I’m not a novice at this kind of thing, I have successfully set-up email accounts for other servers using iPads and mobile phone in the past. However, I can’t get my Talktalk email account to work on any mobile device. My attempts to set up reading Talktalk email on my mobile devices (using the configuration below), result in ‘incorrect username or password’ messages (and occasionally ‘server not found’). I’m stumped and I would really appreciate some help.

I wonder if anyone can provide the correct steps to setup Talktalk email accounts on mobile devices. Specifically, is this correct:

1. Account type (iOS): other
  2. Name: <my real name>
  3. Email: <my talktalk email address xyz@talktalk.net>
  4. Hostname: mail.talktalk.net
  5. Password: <the password I use to access the email portal>
  6. Port 993 (inbound), 153 (outbound)
  7. SSL enabled

Is the password to use in step 4 the same as the one I use to login to the Talktalk portal? If not, how do I set-up this IMAP password?

Thank you so much,

Janice

0 Likes
4 REPLIES 4

Message 1 of 5

Hi JRT26_8 

So long as the talktalk.net email address is listed in the current MyAccount for your Fibre35 service then you can access an active mailbox via webmail and email apps.