cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NEED SOME HELP?

We’re here 24/7. 365 days a year.
Ask questions. Find your answers. Connect.

Fibre Speed dropped from 500 to under 100

Pritesh2
Private Message TalkTalk
Message 8 of 8

Ive had Talk Talk Fiber 500 about 12 months now, speed service was fine uptil july 2024, since its taken a massive nose dive from 500+ MBPS to 80-90MBPS. I on the same router as i started with, nothing has changed switching wifi for less interference. Tested my connection on Wifi, and wired connect all show my Fiber speed has dropped from 500+ to below 100. Not sure why im paying for Fiber 500 if the best Talktalk are providing is a below Fiber 100 service. I have rebooted my Router and ONT box, still got the same slow speeds. I work from home and expect a level of service from my provider. I work in IT so i dont want to hear i need to switc settings on my wifi, or changing the cables as nothing has moved or changed from when i installed everything.

0 Likes
7 REPLIES 7

Message 1 of 8

Good morning,

I'm glad to hear this and thanks for confirming. You shouldn't need to do this too often. If the speed does drop again then please let us know and we can look into this further for you.

Thanks

Michelle 🙂

0 Likes

Message 2 of 8

Hi Michelle,

So After my meeting, i did as you said waited 35 minutes, and then powered up the ONT Box, and hey presto i have my original service speed, first test was hickupy with 100, then 200, then 400, second test was 400-505.

So is there any maintenance i should do like a power down regularly or just when i find a slow down power down ONT for 30 minutes and bring it back up?

Do you need to carry out any tests!

0 Likes

Message 3 of 8

Hi Pritesh2

Thanks for your reply. Please let us know how you get on.

0 Likes

Message 4 of 8

Hi michelle,