cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TV Support

For help with your TalkTalk TV box, channels and apps.

Advice sought -Cancelling TalkTalk TV and replace Using our own Freeview Play box.

pensioner123
Popular Poster
Private Message TalkTalk
Message 9 of 9

Hi everyone.

I have been paying for TalkTalk TV for many many years, and have an original Huawei box.

We usually only watch Catch UP by choosing shows from the last 7 days by scrolling back using the box's program guide. We're not interested in any subscription content through the box.

If we cancel TalkTalk TV and instead buy a used Freeview Play compliant box, the question is, will we still be able to choose shows from the last 7 days program guide on our own box? So I'm wondering whether by cancelling TalkTalk TV, the 7 days Catch Up facility on our own box won't work?

Are there any disadvantages in ditching TalkTalkt TV and buying our own Freeview Play compliant box?

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
8 REPLIES 8

Message 1 of 9

Thanks fr8ys, that's a very interesting idea.

I think I'd like to have the option to attach an aerial, and the record function of the BT/EE box is an attractive feature that may well come in useful. Hmm, I think the BT/EE box still wins!

It's very good of you to share your experience and knowledge with the audience on this forum. Thank you.

0 Likes

fr8ys
Community Star
Private Message TalkTalk
Message 2 of 9

Another thought.

If you do not have an aerial and only want catchup apps, then something like an Amazon Fire or a Roku stick might prove a better option and cheaper option.

these sticks will also give you access to other free apps like Pluto TV.

You can by these is SD or HD quality for under £50.

Please remember to mark Solved Posts with Best Answer. Doing so helps other customers and saves TalkTalk's Support Team time by only looking at unsolved topics. Thanks, Steve (a fellow customer).

Message 3 of 9