cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband help

For queries about your TalkTalk broadband service.

WiFi security settings changing by themselves on Sagemcom FAST 5364-3 Router (WiFi Hub)

MyLastResort
Popular Poster
Private Message
Message 9 of 9

I am new to TalkTalk in the last 2 months.

I have found that my router WiFi security settings (specifically those relating to MAC filtering) have changed by themselves on at least a couple of occasions. 

This is obviously concerning.

The most recent changes changed the MAC filtering setting from ALLOW ALL to DENY. I can see from the router logs that there were no other logins between me logging out last night and logging in again today. The changes even happened while I was not at home. Luckily, since I currently have no MAC addresses listed this did not affect my WiFi access today.

However, when I first set up my router, as a matter of routine additional security I DID set up a list of the MAC addresses of my own devices. The settings changed by themselves while I was actually logged onto the router admin web pages from ALLOW (allowing ONLY those MAC addresses I had listed) to DENY - which kicked all my devices off the WiFi. Luckily I was logged into the router via a wired connection.

The router logs show 6 messages today saying "WiFi security settings have been successfully saved" all of which occurred while I was away from home. They are in two sets of three - in each set the first two are 2 seconds apart and the second and third messages are 6 seconds apart. The regularity, I hope, is an indication of an automatic process.

I have spent hours on the phone and the web chat with TalkTalk support regarding other issues (poor WiFi connectivity/speeds from the router to my WiFi devices as flagged by the TalkTalk account SpeedTest tool) which they have failed to resolve. They even closed both the REP and CMP number without reference to me.