Need help?

Wifi extender slow speeds and/or dropouts

ANSWERED
22 REPLIES 22
A_Forder
Popular Poster

@KeithFrench

Hi,

I recently installed a WIFI extender kit into a second floor bedroom because the signal of our router was very weak in there. It works very intermittently. Sometimes it will work providing us with our router speeds (70-80mb/s) and other times it will either be as slow as 1mb/s or it will drop out completely. I have tried changing the network names to avoid any roaming issues but that hasn't changed anything and I think I have identified that it may be the 2.4GHz band that is the problem (but I am not sure). I am no expert in any means but would appreciate some help from someone someone such as yourself who is more technically educated than I am who might be able to shed some light and hopefully a solution.

Thank you,

Arthur

A_Forder
Popular Poster

Update: I have moved the extender to a different room that is closer to the router but still provides a strong signal to the 2nd floor and it seems to have fixed it so far. However if the problem does come back I will be sure to post another update here within 24 hours of this post.

OCE_Chris
Community Team - TT Staff

Hi A_Forder,

Glad to hear the extenders are working now 🙂

Chris

A_Forder
Popular Poster

Update 2: unfortunately the extender speeds have dropped again. Help!

KeithFrench
Community Star

Have you looked at this with a Wi-fi analyser? I can help a lot with this f you want it.

Keith
I am not employed by TalkTalk, I'm just a customer. If my post has fixed the issue, please mark it as the Best Answer.
OCE's and Community Stars - Who are they? 

A_Forder
Popular Poster

Thanks for the reply Keith. Yes I’d appreciate any form of help. What analyser could you suggest for apple? I know you’re not an apple user yourself. I also have a windows PC but that is a wired connection only.

thanks

Arthur

OCE_Debbie
Community Team - TT Staff

Hi Arthur