FIbre Support

Get expert support with your Fibre connection.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to configure router to block ALL Internet access on a single device at a specific time of day

KrystalineD
Conversation Starter
Message 6 of 6

On many brands of router there are options within the firewall settings to configure a total block of ALL internet services to ANY single or multiple connected devices at specific times. 

I'm 96% certain that there was a feature available for this on the talktalk router at some point (possibly the previous model before changing to the SAGEMCOM FAST5364)

I just need to block 100% internet access in both directions to one specific wired device between 3am and 6am. Such a simple time restriction rule should be really easy to configure in the router firewall rules. (As an IT tech, I've done it on other routers in the past). 

All other household devices need to maintain active internet at this time, so i can't just "turn the router off".

I know that TT are currently developing and testing a "Smart Home Protect" service, which is accessed via an app and connects to an enabled router. The problem is that they've been "trialing" it for about a year now, with no sign of an upcoming release date and NO access to an activation code to be able to use the app at this time. 

After being a loyal and happy TT customer for over a decade with relatively few problems, i now find myself with 2 major issues. 

1) i can't implement a fairly simple firewall rule to create a time block for a single device

2) I can't order the UFO service even though Openreach assure me that it is now available to my house with FULL FTTP and it's been available for about a month from a handful of ISPs (including TalkTalk as far as openreach is concerned) 

I don't work for TalkTalk, I'm just a customer.

Update your community profile with your account & contact info so TT team members can help you.
0 Likes
5 REPLIES 5